Council of Medical Colleges in New Zealand


Our structure is simple and inclusive

CMC is composed of a Board of Trustees, an Executive Committee, and a small office staff.

The CMC Board of Trustees

The CMC Board of Trustees consists of the current NZ Chairs/President (or a nominated representative) of each member Medical College.

The Board meets in Wellington four times a year including an Annual General Meeting (AGM). A senior staff member from each Member College (usually the NZ CEO) also attends these meetings.


Dr John Bonning

Dr Bonning, from the Australasian College for Emergency Medicine, was elected as Chair of CMC at the 2018 AGM.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee consists of the CMC Chair and three other Member College representatives elected at the AGM.

The Executive Committee's purpose is:

-          To forward matters between the CMC meetings.

-          To action matters not requiring a full meeting of the Board.

-          To meet with health sector leaders regarding issues and suggestions from the Board.

-          To advise CMC staff and contractors.

Office Staff

Executive Director

Sarah Thomson

The Australasian College for Emergency Medicine is contracted to provide secretariat services to CMC:



Administration  Officer

Leanne Shuttleworth


Financial Support

CMC is a trust established under the Charitable Trusts Act 1957. Contact us if you would like a copy of the Deed of Trust. 

CMC is funded solely through its annual membership subscriptions which are approved annually by the Board.